Acceptance Stage of Grief - Things You Should Know

Acceptance Stage of Grief

What is Grief

Grief, in its essence, is the emotional response to loss. It's that profound ache that settles into the core of your being when someone or something significant is no longer present in your life. Grief is a natural reaction, and although it is universal, it is also deeply personal and unique to each individual. Some may find help in sharing their grief openly, while others may prefer to mourn alone.

Additionally, the grieving process isn't linear, instead, it's more like a winding, unpredictable path that goes through various stages and emotions. Although sadness is a big part of it, grief encompasses a whole spectrum of emotions — from anger and denial to bargaining and depression. These are commonly known as the stages of grief. n

What Are The Stages of Grief?

Here are the stages of grief discussed in detail.


Initially, there may be a refusal to accept the reality of the loss. This can manifest as shock or numbness.


As the reality sets in, there may be feelings of anger towards oneself, others, or even the situation itself.


This stage involves seeking ways to regain control or negotiate the circumstances of the loss. This is often through 'if only' statements or bargaining with a higher power.


Feelings of deep sadness, loneliness, and despair may become prevalent as the full weight of the loss is experienced.

And finally, commonly thought of as the most impactful stage of the grieving process- the Acceptance stage of grief.

What is the Acceptance stage

While grief never truly goes away, reaching the acceptance stage of grief marks a significant milestone in the healing process. The acceptance stage is the moment when you stop fighting against the reality of your loss and start making peace with it instead. You begin to accept that your life has been forever changed by what you've experienced. It's not about pretending everything is okay or that the pain has magically disappeared. Instead, it's about finding a way to carry that pain with you while still moving forward. It's a bit like learning to write after fracturing your hand– you're still aware of the injury, but you're finding a new way of working that allows you to keep going.

Get the best support near you from the best therapists.

How to know if you’re in the 'Acceptance Stage'

During the acceptance stage of grief, individuals may experience several symptoms as they come to terms with their loss and begin to integrate it into their lives. Some common symptoms of the acceptance stage include:

  1. Acknowledgment of Reality:
  2. Individuals start to recognise and accept the permanence of the loss. They no longer deny or avoid the truth of what has happened.

  3. Emotional Stability:
  4. While still experiencing sadness, individuals may find a greater sense of emotional stability and inner peace compared to earlier stages of grief.

  5. Increased Adaptability:
  6. There's a growing ability to adapt to life without the presence of what or whom they have lost. They start to adjust to a “new normal.”

  7. Renewed Engagement:
  8. Individuals may show renewed interest in activities they once enjoyed. They also express a desire to reconnect with loved ones as they begin to rebuild their lives.

  9. Integration of Loss:
  10. There's a gradual process of integrating the loss into their identity and life story, finding ways to honor the memory of what has been lost while moving forward.

  11. Hope for the Future:
  12. While the pain of the loss never completely disappears, individuals in the acceptance stage often develop a sense of hope for the future. They also begin to recognise that life can still hold meaning and joy despite the loss.

    It's crucial to keep in mind that progress through the stages of grief isn't always a straightforward path. It's perfectly normal to see ups and downs in emotions, even while you're in the acceptance stage. Trusting your own inner wisdom and intuition can be invaluable as you navigate this journey of healing and renewal. If you're uncertain about where you stand in the grieving process, reaching out for counselling from a therapist near you can offer valuable insight and assistance.

Coping strategies to support during the Acceptance stage

When we discuss the acceptance phase, effective coping strategies become essential tools for navigating the complexities of grief with resilience and grace. The following are some of the coping strategies tailored to support individuals during the acceptance stage. They can offer guidance and empowerment as individuals embrace the reality of their new normal and move forward on their healing journey.

  1. Seek Support:
  2. Surround yourself with understanding friends, family, or a grief support group. Sharing your feelings can ease the sense of isolation that often accompanies grief.

  3. Practice Self-Care:
  4. Prioritize your physical and emotional well-being by getting enough rest, eating healthily, exercising regularly, and practising relaxation techniques like meditation or deep breathing.

  5. Express Emotions:
  6. Allow yourself to feel and express your emotions in healthy ways, such as journaling, art, or engaging in activities that provide an outlet. Suppressing emotions can prolong the grieving process.

  7. Engage in Meaningful Activities:
  8. Find comfort and joy in activities that hold meaning for you, whether it's spending time in nature, pursuing hobbies, or volunteering. Meaningful activities can provide a sense of purpose and connection.

  9. Practice Mindfulness:
  10. Stay present in the moment and use mindfulness techniques to manage overwhelming emotions. Focus on your senses or surroundings to ground yourself in the present.

    It is important to remember that coping with grief is unique to each individual. It is essential to be patient and compassionate with yourself as you navigate this journey of healing. If needed, consider exploring counselling services available near you or accessing resources to support mental health care in India for more guidance.


In conclusion, the acceptance stage of grief is a transformative journey marked by acknowledgement and adaptation to a “new normal”. With effective coping strategies like seeking support, and practicing self-care, individuals can navigate this stage with resilience. Mental healthcare in India is slowly but surely developing resources that provide support is for those in need. Essentially, embracing the acceptance stage lays the groundwork for growth, resilience, and renewed purpose in the wake of loss

image credit : freepik